Getting irritated by those spam comments and wondering how to block someone on YouTube? We got you.
YouTube is a platform where you can post videos on any topic. Many people will appreciate you, but some will be mean. So, to avoid engaging with those users, YouTube offers features to create a safe environment where you can post your content.
Let’s get into the blog to learn how to block someone on YouTube and more features.
How to block someone on YouTube
As a viewer
If you do not like a particular creator’s work, rather than spreading negativity, prefer blocking them.
Here are the steps on how to block them
Step 1: Open YouTube .
Step 2: Search for the user’s channel and click on it.
Step 3: Select the 3 vertical dots .
Step 4: Tap “Report user” on the Flag icon and select Block user.
As a creator
If you are a creator and do not like a user’s engagement on your channel, you can block them.
Here are the steps
Step 1: Go to your YouTube studio.
Step 2: Click Comments in the left side of the page.
Step 3: Click the 3 dots next to a comment from the user you want to block.
Step 4: Select “hide user from channel.”
How to block someone on YouTube
As a YouTube user, you can use the platform in two ways: on your phone or on your desktop. Let’s see how you can block someone from each device.
Block someone on YouTube on the phone
Step 1: Open the YouTube app .
Step 2: Search for the user .
Step 3: Open their channel profile .
Step 4: Tap the three-dots in the menu .
Step 5: Select “Hide user from my channel.”
Step 6: Confirm action by selecting “Hide user.”
Block someone on YouTube on Desktop
Step 1: Open YouTube on the desktop
Step 2: Visit the user’s channel
Step 3: Click the “About” section
Step 4: Select the flag/report icon
Step 5: Choose “Hide user from my channel”
Step 6: Confirm action by selecting “Hide user”.
Different Features on YouTube
While being a YouTube user, you will come across a few users whose engagement you may not like and want to exclude from your feed. We have mentioned a few features that YouTube offers to protect your content.
Feature on YouTube | What will it do | Why | Result |
1. Removing comments | Deletes individual comments from a video | when you have a spam or offensive comments | The comment disappears from public view
|
| 2. Turning comments off | Disables comments entirely on a video | It is best for sensitive topics or avoiding discussions | Nobody can comment on the video |
3. Hiding a user | Silently prevents a user’s comments from appearing publicly | Repeated negativity without confrontation | Their comments become invisible to others |
4. Report | Alerts YouTube about harmful behavior | Harassment, threats, or policy violations | YouTube reviews the account or comments. |
Note : Blocking a user
Unfortunately, YouTube does not have a “Block” feature like other social media platforms, such as Instagram and Facebook. In addition to the block you can remove, you can hide a user from your account.
How to block someone from commenting on YouTube
If you want to block someone from commenting on your video, follow these steps.
Step 1: Open YouTube .
Step 2: Search for the user’s channel and click on it.
Step 3: Select the 3 vertical dots .
Step 4: Tap “Report user” on the Flag icon and select “Block user”.
Hide Users directly from the comment section.
Sometimes, if you want a specific person not to engage with your comment section, you can do this.
Steps to hide a user from comments
Step 1: Open the required video.
Step 2: Find the unwanted comments .
Step 3: Click or tap the three dots beside the comment.
Step 4: Choose ” Hide user from channel”.
How to block someone on the YouTube live chat
As we do not have the block feature on YouTube. You can report a user in your YouTube live chat if you feel there is something wrong with the comment.
Step 1: Select the user
Step 2: Click on the three dots.
Step 3: Click on the “report”.
Can you block someone from watching your YouTube videos?
No, you cannot block a specific user from viewing your public YouTube videos.
Tips to manage Toxic Comments on YouTube
Follow the tips to reduce harmful engagement rather than automatically hiding users.
- Use comments filters
YouTube offers comment filter tools that automatically detect harmful messages.
How to enable the filter
Step 1: Open YouTube Studio
Step 2: Go to Settings
Step 3: Select Community
Step 4: Add block words or links
Step 5: Turn on automatic moderation filters.
- Block word list
YouTube offers a feature to block a word list, allowing you to block specific words or phrases manually. You can prepare your own list to filter out offensive language or hate speech.
- Report Serious Abuse
Sometimes deleting comments isn’t enough; you need to report these messages. To do so, click the message and check for report. Provide the valid reason and ask the Google Support to deleting or take action on the account.
Conclusion
Have you checked Indzu? We are one of the best tools for creating posts and scheduling them with a single click. While the goal is to post content and drive good engagement, sometimes you can come across spam, rude, or unwanted comments. In that case, you should know how to block someone on YouTube.
Blocking will keep you safe from unwanted comments and engagement. It creates a safe space to post content. Follow the steps to block someone on YouTube. And explore our other blogs on YouTube for better social media posts.
FAQs
Q1. Does YouTube notify users when you block them?
Ans 1: No, YouTube does not notify the user when you block them.
Q2. Can blocked users still watch my YouTube video?
Ans 2: Yes, blocked users can still watch your public YouTube videos.
Q3. Can I block someone on YouTube Shorts?
Ans 3: Yes, you can use the same blocking method to block someone from your YouTube Shorts.
Q4. Can I completely stop someone from watching my YouTube channel?
Ans 4: No, you cannot completely stop a specific YouTube user from viewing public channels or videos.
Q5. Will old comments disappear after blocking someone?
Ans 5: Existing comments from the given user will disappear from your channel after some time once you block them.
Q6. Can I block multiple users on YouTube?
Ans 6: Yes, you can block multiple users.







